Current News

  • Tweet

2016 ARCS Phoenix Scholar Awards Dinner Features The "Cream of the Crop"

Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2016

The 41st annual ARCS Scholar Awards Dinner commenced with the pledge of allegiance and a star-spangled version of the National Anthem sung by Cody Ray Caho, Masters of Music in Opera Candidate at ASU. The evening’s theme, celebrating the “cream of the crop” honored 41 outstanding scholars, with each receiving a $7000 award from the ARCS Foundation, Inc., Phoenix Chapter, totaling $287,000.

Chairs Marge Mehagian and Jennifer Sands assured that all other aspects of the evening were excellent as well, arranging for a delicious dinner of whole roasted beef tenderloin for our ARCS members and guests. University Relations Chairs Elizabeth Swink and Kate Thompson presided over the presentations to the scholars.

The hall was buzzing with enthusiasm as attendees conversed with the scholars as they discussed their poster sessions. Most noteworthy were the comments from many of the scholars as they took their turns on stage to relate their areas of research and accomplishments. They were eager to thank the ARCS Foundation and individual donors, stating that much of what they have accomplished would not have been possible without their generous and continued support.

The success of the 41st Annual ARCS Phoenix Chapter Awards Dinner is due to the very generous support of its membership in providing underwriting for the evening, Endowment Scholar Awards, Scholar Awards-Suma Cum Laude, and individual Chapter Donor contributions. The Phoenix Chapter recognizes the efforts of all of its donors and members who contributed to this evening which signifies the culmination of our purpose and mission as ARCS Members.

Four ARCS Phoenix Chapter alumni attended the event: Sarah Jones, Paul Akenbliet, Carolyn Addington and Richard Moore. Dr. Richard Moore was the second scholar to receive a 1978-1979 ARCS Foundation Phoenix Award and has had a distinguished career. Most recently he was the Deputy Director of the UCSD/SanDiego Super Computer Center. We appreciate the generous donation to the Chapter.