Officers and Directors

2016-2017 Phoenix Officers and Board of Directors


An elected Chapter Board of Directors oversees all phases of ARCS Foundation Phoenix. At monthly board meetings, the work and progress of the committees are discussed. Officers of the Phoenix Board include President, Past President, and in some years, President-Elect, VP Field Trips, VP Fund Development, VP Membership, VP Public Relations, VP University Relations, Recording Secretary, Corresponding Secretary, Treasurer, and Assistant Treasurer. Committees include Alumni Scholar Relations, Awards Dinner, Donor Relations, Endowment Fund, Fall Speakers Series, Historian, Hospitality, Newsletter, Parliamentarian, Printing, and Web Master. In addition, there are several Directors at Large who serve on the Phoenix Board.

The fiscal year is July 1 – June 30, with the annual officer installation meeting each May. The year’s largest event is the Scholar Awards Dinner in April, when the scholars for the upcoming year present posters of their work and introduce themselves on stage to the attendees. 

President Christine Hawes
Vice Presidents  
   Field Trips Vianne Kucera and Penny Papadopoulos
   Fund Development Carolyn Evani
   Membership Anna Maria Matteucci
   Public Relations Alexandra Shepard
   University Relations Jill Bray
Recording Secretary Susan Woodrow
Corresponding Secretary Betty Hayes
Donor Relations Carolyn Evani
Treasurer Patti Tucker
Endowment Fund Chairman Jane Lawson
Parliamentarian Eileen Haga
President-Elect Dawn Carson Senger
Web Master  Nancy Spetzler
Alumni Scholar Relations Janet Castner
Awards Dinner Dawn Carson Senger
Fall Speaker Series Kate Thompson and Ann Engle
Historian Sandra Matteucci
Hospitality Paulette Dalke
Newsletter Carol Browner
Printing Sandy Kennedy
Christy Burton Mary Ann Cavness
Bettie Crawford Irene Douglas
Dr. Stevie Eller Joan Jugloff
Diane Might Kathey Plenge
Lynne Sonntag Betty VanDenburgh
Carol Wagner Terry Wilhoit